• Home
  • Audio
  • Video
  • Print
  • Art
  • Photos
  • Live
  • Features
  • About
  • Sale

    Victoire – Cathedral City

    February 20th, 2011

    Victoire - Cathedral City

    Victoire is a chamber rock ensemble founded way back in 2008 by New York composer Missy Mazzoli. Possibly named after a small, dusty town in a Southern California desert, Cathedral City fills a huge, vaulted ceiling full of lilting, melodic chamber pop with tools like keyboards, melodica, toys, violin, keyboards, clarinet, double bass and electric bass. Ingredients sprinkled into this delicious sonic holy water include answering machine voices and electronic hiss, hovering and sawing violin, skittering percussion over mellow melodies, angelic singing, cut-up vocals, woozy melodies, keyboard pulsations, synth drones with violin outbursts, a furiously strummed reverb guitar climax, clicking rhythms, floaty melodies, simple repetitive singing, corroded skitters layered with a mechanical voice and lots more than you could shake a Bible at. Of particular note is track two, “I Am Coming For My Things,” a seriously beautiful floater which brandishes a bunch of billowing, buoyant minimalism. At the 1:35 mark, it completely explodes and soars upward into puffy white clouds surrounded by a soft, magenta sky–only to encounter a bit of threatening turbulence before gently gliding back to Earth. Victoire scores a victory in Cathedral City!

    Label: New Amsterdam Records Catalog Number: NWAM025 Format: CD Packaging: Digi-Pak Tracks: 8 Total Time: 45:27 Country: United States Released: 2010 More: Amazon, New Amsterdam Records, Official, YouTube

    Text ©2011 Arcane Candy