• Home
  • Audio
  • Video
  • Print
  • Art
  • Photos
  • Live
  • Features
  • About
  • Sale

    Vittorio Gelmetti – Musiche Elettroniche

    July 17th, 2008

    Vittorio Gelmetti - Musiche Elettroniche

    This rare, out-of-print CD, released in 1997, contains five beautiful electro-acoustic pieces from the 1960s by this self-taught Italian composer. There’s no way I’m going to sit here and type out all the really lengthy Italian track titles, so just mark my words, this is another gathering of long-lost sound-realms that are best experienced alone, deep into the night.

    “Masses of sound and blocks of filtered white noise alternate and interweave in structures of apparent immobility as in a mosaic. A magma of sounds that change color almost imperceptibly, creating unusual and mysteriously fascinating musical textures. Time seems to assume a new dimension and space seems to shatter into several facets from which springs a sound matter that surrounds you as a lava flow, which makes us picture Vittorio as an extra-terrestrial lost in cosmic space intercepting acoustic signals, music and messages coming from planet Earth light years away. Fragments of songs, voices, dances, messages, opera and piano pieces are immersed in and emerge from a formless mass of buzzes and noises of a seemingly galactic nature.”

    Soaked with dark ambient hiss, pulsing drones, high-pitched chimes and whistling, static interjections, distant voices and occasional “samples” of pop, ballads, classical, opera and jazz that momentarily appear—only to be swallowed up by another dense, deep space cloud. It all comes housed inside a gorgeous digi-pak including strange, stunning, full-bleed photos of the man with minimal graphic intrusion—just the way I like it.

    Label: Nepless Catalog Number: CO 971 1003 Format: CD Packaging: Digi-Pak Tracks: 5 Total Time: 73:00 Country: Italy Released: 1997 Related Artists: Francois Bayle, Bernard Parmegiani, Pierre Schaeffer More: Discogs