• Home
  • Audio
  • Video
  • Print
  • Art
  • Photos
  • Live
  • Features
  • About
  • Sale

    Jexper Holmen – Oort Cloud

    Jexper Holmen - Oort Cloud

    Back in the 1950s and ’60s, official forecasters, futurists and Disney alike promised that, by the year 2000, we’d all be dwelling in a glistening white utopia pierced by sleek monorails, peppered with multitudes of hovercrafts flying around, and huge rockets roaring into the sky, whisking us away on vacations to the moon. I always dreamed of my family taking a side trip to the Van Allen Radiation Belt to observe all the energetic charged particles as they flit around and collide, producing miniature explosions of colorful florescence. Following our holiday on the moon, we would embark on a much longer excursion, one light year away, out to the edge of the Solar System and the Oort Cloud, home of those icey vagabonds known as comets. There, we’d watch as one of these cosmic dirtballs becomes dislodged from its orbit in the cloud and gets sucked toward our Sun, putting on a dazzlingly bright display as its tail flashes past the Earth.

    Then suddenly, some shrill, breathy, deep space drones courtesy of two accordians, sax and electronics emanate out of Danish composer Jexper Holmen’s head, slowly drift aboard the comet and hitch a ride back to the Oort Cloud, where they explode outward and permeate the fiber of everyone and everything forever. We’re talking ultra-minimal music of a seriously wide order here, folks. The whole CD package itself that makes a feeble attempt to contain it is completely covered in a seemingly random sequence of tiny letters, like some sort of mysterious alien transmission from deep space. But, on closer inspection, this text reveals itself to be made of a much more mundane source: simple permutations of the artist and album names. But, even that can’t put a dent in the beautiful aura of the Oort Cloud.

    Label: Dacapo Open Space Catalog Number: 8-226562 Format: CD Packaging: Jewel case Tracks: 1 Total Time: 56:23 Country: United States Released: 2010 More: Amazon, Official

    Text ©2011 Arcane Candy

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *